Already Up to No Good

My flight into Madrid last Wednesday was delayed by an hour – I thought about sending a message to my brother to let him know, but then I figured he wouldn’t even see it.  I ended up getting in around 10am, not at 8:30 like I had told my family. When I got through immigration, I didn’t see anyone waiting for me.  My family thought I had been deported.  Oops!

My first few days here have been spent doing a whole lot of nothing.  My daily routine consists of struggling to wake up, watching an episode of the telenovela La Viuda de Blanco, having lunch, and then doing whatever.

Saturday afternoon I went into Madrid to visit a cousin.  I have to take 3 different trains to  get to his place, which costs around 4.5€ just to get there.  That’s like a $11 trip, which I didn’t feel like paying.  So my sneaky brother and I decided to falsify a train pass so I could ride for free… I borrowed one of my family members train passes which consists of their name, citizenship, photo ID, and then the actual metro card.  The main issue was if I was asked for my papers while on the train, I would have to show them the train pass, which was clearly not me.  We found a photo booth in the train station and I got my glam shots done!  We then cut one out and taped it over the original photo.  And there you have it, a falsified metro card!  For all our hard work, no one asked to see the train pass, but I guess it’s better that way 😉

After visiting my cousins house we went to a soccer stadium to watch my other cousins play in their soccer game.  Afterwards we stayed out with the team and drank until the early morning.  Too bad the metro doesn’t run very late and we had to walk to the bus stop which seemed like miles away.  We ended up getting in around 5am and then we had a party the next day so I didn’t get a chance to sleep.  I ended the weekend with more beer, good food, family, and new friends.

Now to start on my research, my ‘main’ reason for being here right?  I keep finding myself unmotivated to do any research… maybe tomorrow?  Or after this weekend? 🙂

2 comments

  1. Girl!! get to work, time goes by wayyyy to fast. Besos!!

    1. Ahh, Mati, come be my research assistant! Oh and my wing girl for the clubs! 😉

Leave a comment